Trying to understand the difference between RC and Mavlink

Dear All,
I am new to ROSflight and some things are not totally clear to me. I do not really understand the distinction between RC and Mavlink in the code architecture on page http://docs.rosflight.org/en/latest/developer-guide/code-architecture/.
In particular, I thought that the "offboard" computer was on the same physical computer as the flight controler, so why need Mavlink?
Also, if you need Mavlink to send commands back and forth between the flight controler and the "offboard" controler, then what is RC?
Is RC only for joystick command (i.e. manual). So if I were to do something totally autonomous with my own algorithm and software, I would only use Mavlink and not RC?
Please if someone could bring a bit of light I would hugely appreciate :)

Comments

• 5 Comments sorted by Votes Date Added
  • Hi @arta,

An overview of how the RC and companion computers work together is given on this page; if there are improvements we can make to the documentation though we'd love suggestions or pull requests! Hopefully the following will help though:

The "offboard" computer (this is maybe a confusing name and I think sometimes we call it the "onboard" computer too; "companion computer" might be a better term) is a distinct computer (like a Raspberry Pi, for example) from the flight controller, but is typically mounted on the vehicle and connected to the flight controller over USB. See this page for more info. The companion computer and flight controller communicate over USB using the MAVLink protocol.

The RC connection is the connection from an RC transmitter to the flight controller, via an RC receiver. This is used for manual piloting of the aircraft, as well as for safety pilot functionality. The safety pilot functionality is summarized here.